Dewey’s Read-a-thon

Have you heard of Dewey’s Read-a-thon? I heard about it a few months ago, but at the time I was working Tuesdays through Saturdays (it’s on a Saturday), and as tempted as I was, I couldn’t imagine spending a vacation day on it. But then! My schedule shifted to Monday through Friday! The shift got pushed back a few times, and then two of my co-workers requested this Saturday off, so I thought for sure it was going to fall through, but NO! I have the day off!

Still, I was feeling guilty about spending my first Saturday off work ignoring my kids all day, so I didn’t commit to participating until Jefferson (my nine-year-old) saw the page over my shoulder while I was waffling and got all excited. Of course! Why didn’t I think of it before! So now Jefferson and I are going to do the read-a-thon together!

It will be nice to have a reading buddy, and even better to have a clear excuse to declare a no-TV day so that Jefferson and I can commandeer the living room for reading.

But still I felt I needed a little extra motivation to actually spend all day reading (we already have two breaks planned, but other than those!), so I decided to add a fundraising challenge! I don’t know how many participants use the read-a-thon as a fundraiser, but it’s definitely not all. I did a little bit of poking around and ended up creating a crowdrise fundraising page, which I quite like. Crowdrise is a nice website and made the whole process super easy. We’re raising money for Reading is Fundamental (RIF), since I have such fond memories of them as a child and their mission is for every child to love reading as much as Jefferson and I do. (I mean, really. That should be their mission statement.)

So this morning I made the fundraiser site and posted it to Facebook, and have already gotten a decent amount of support! After dinner tonight we all went to the library to supplement our to-read piles. And right now I’m hoping I can find a short movie for movie night tonight, because I still want lots of time to do a little cleaning/organizing of the living room and also to figure out our snacks/food situation for Saturday.

I’m also hoping that whatever this low-grade headachey, general unwell feeling I’ve had off and on again all week long doesn’t flare up just in time for the Read-a-thon this Saturday.

ANYWAY, this is our first time participating, and we’re really looking forward to it. Wish us luck!

Leave a Reply

