Read-a-thon: Hour One

At five to seven, Jefferson scurried into my room. “It’s almost time!” he reminded me a in a stage whisper. I was just getting up, so I threw on some clothes and came downstairs to assume my corner of the couch on time. We’ve been reading quietly, while Solomon has mostly been hanging out quietly with us, currently coloring his Easter puzzle. Andrew is still to bed.

I am about halfway through The Uncommon Reader, which I am thoroughly delighted with, and which I probably would never have read if it had not been for my Book Bingo Challenge at work: I had to research books written by authors over the age of 65, and this one jumped out at me. It’s wonderful, and, as I suspected, being about the transformative powers of reading, a great way to start the read-a-thon.

The Uncommon Reader

Jefferson is also about halfway through his book, The Jungle Temple Oracle, a Minecraft novel. Both of our books were from our library mission Thursday night.

The Jungle Temple Oracle: The Mystery of Herobrine: Book Two: A Gameknight999 Adventure: An Unofficial Minecrafter’s Adventure

We’ve just finished our breakfast, munching on bagels as we read, and are looking forward to a long day of reading!

Support our Read-a-thon and make a donation to Reading is Fundamental!

2 thoughts on “Read-a-thon: Hour One

Leave a comment