Read-a-thon 3.0

I keep intending for this blog to be something beyond documenting our read-a-thon participations, but here it is, another read-a-thon!

Last April I did my first read-a-thon with Jefferson, and it was wonderful. In the fall, I found out about Dewey’s fall read-a-thon way too late to do the whole day, but both the kids and I had a mini read-a-thon in the evening after work. It wasn’t as much fun to do only a few hours, and Solomon wasn’t really ready, so I didn’t want a repeat experience this year when I realized that again, I’d found out about the read-a-thon too late to request the day off. I talked to Jefferson, and confirmed that what we really liked about the read-a-thon was the chance to read all day, and raising money for a good cause. We’d enjoyed the social media aspect of it that first time, but we didn’t really participate too much, as it was a distraction from the reading. So, that established, why not just pick another day?

So, while Dewey’s April read-a-thon was this past Saturday, Jefferson and I are going to be having ours this Saturday, April 30. We’re fundraising for The Capital Area Literacy Coalition again, and there are details at our crowdrise fundraiser, Jen & Jefferson’s Second Annual Read-a-thon.

I haven’t made a donation yet because I’m planning a per book pledge. I’m thinking $2 per book. I know from our totals last year that would have only been $20, which makes me think I should pledge more per book, but I’ve got a couple of graphic novels on my pile, and I know the kind of books Jefferson is plowing through these days, so I think $2 per book is a good pledge.

Tonight we’ll go to the library to supplement our to-read piles. I may update my pledge then. 😉

If you choose to support our read-a-thon, we will be so grateful! Whether that’s by sending a donation, cheering us on or chatting with us about our books, bringing us snacks, or just actually reading all of our updates, we appreciate all forms of support!

One thought on “Read-a-thon 3.0

Leave a Reply

