Read-a-thon 3.0, Hour 0

Good morning, friends, family, potential read-a-thon supporters! đŸ˜‰

I’ve actually been up for an hour not reading books, because Jefferson faked me out by rocketing out of his room at 5:30 this morning. So I got up and started puttering around, but it turned out he just went to the bathroom and back to bed. I didn’t want to start without him, so I just caught up on social media, made myself a dirty chai latte, and am starting this morning’s blog post, as I expect him down any minute now.

Dewey’s read-a-thon opening meme:

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today?

Lansing, Michigan, of course. Specifically, we’re taking over the living room of our old Victorian home. We may relocate up to my craft room when company comes over, for which I bought a bean bag chair this week. There are not enough quiet places to read in my house.

2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to?

Hard question! It’s a toss-up between On Immunity and Rachel Rising, vol. 6, both of which have been on my to-be-read list a long, long time.

3) Which snack are you most looking forward to?

Oh, guys. I went a little bit overboard on the snacks. (Again.) I think I am most excited by these amazing looking fruit bowls I bought last night on impulse. They said they normally served them with whipped cream, so I’m planning on wandering over to the convenience store across the street some time today to buy some whipped cream. <drools>

4) Tell us a little something about yourself!

For those who don’t know me, I’m an informal science educator by day, book addict by night. I am participating in the read-a-thon with my oldest son, Jefferson, who is 10. Jefferson is a Minecraft addict, science geek, justice lover, goofball. And he tears through books like I did at his age, though perhaps in a slightly less organized fashion.

5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to?

Last year I posted hourly updates, which I think seriously interrupted my reading flow. This year I’m aiming more for every two hours. We’ll see how that goes. Also, you’re welcome, my Facebook feed.

Support our read-a-thon! Donate to the Capital Area Literacy Coalition!

Leave a Reply

