Read-a-thon, Hour 2

So, two hours in, and minor tragedies have already struck. (Oh, the drama.) We’re bribing Solomon with extra computer time in order to get fewer interruptions this morning, which means Jefferson can’t play Minecraft on his breaks. So I was planning to distract Jefferson by letting him play games on my phone when he needed a break, only to discover this morning that somehow all of our profiles and progress on Plants vs. Zombies 2 have been wiped. We’ve spent entirely too much time trying to fix it, and it’s still unresolved. Grrr.

So far, I’m still working on finishing The Dispossessed. I’d intended, last week, to finish this book before the read-a-thon, so that I could say that all the books I finished today I read entirely today, but then I got sick and spent a lot of time watching Netflix and drinking orange juice instead. So I’m going to try to finish it this morning instead.

The Dispossessed (Hainish Cycle, #5)
Jefferson read all of Dinosaurs this morning, then started in on The Chocolate War. He clearly really enjoyed Dinosaurs, as he kept interrupting my reading to read bits of it to me. I’m thinking of adding it to my stack at some point.

Science Comics: Dinosaurs: Fossils and Feathers The Chocolate War (Chocolate War, #1)
(Jefferson had read all his library books already, so last night we raided both his bookshelves for unread books plus my shelf of books, mostly from my own childhood, that haven’t made their way to his room yet. Which explains the super 70s cover of The Chocolate War. Somehow. Despite the fact that I wasn’t reading chapter books in the 70s.)

Our tallies so far:
Books read: Jen – 0, Jefferson – 1
Pages read: Jen – 78, Jefferson – 158

Support our read-a-thon and donate to Capital Area Literacy Coalition!

Leave a Reply

